_ Of course, all of us have at some point, bought the bigger package because we were falsely led to believe that it was the better value. I'm going to give you a hypothetical example (which happens everyday) and see if you don't believe me when I say....BIGGER is NOT always BETTER!

If you go to Walmart and you see 3 different sizes of the same product on the shelf for 3 different prices....Here's what you can consider:

We are going to buy deodorant (since this is a common item that is overpriced)!

You have coupons for $1.00 off (No size restrictions)

Twin Pack 2oz deodorant  is $4.00

You can only use 1, $1.00 off coupon

Total Out of Pocket: $3.00

Single 2oz deodorant is $2.00, buy 2

Use 2 $1.00 coupons

Final price: $2.00

Trial Size 0.5oz deodorant is $1.00, buy 8

Use 8 $1.00 coupons

Final price: FREE except TAX!!!!

So, which is the better deal? You are getting the same amount but paying a lot less! I realize that you don't always have 8 coupons to use on the product, but chances are...you will have another coupon of equal or greater value before you need deodorant again!

So, I've came to my couponers again to share another piece of helpful advice. I've found the biggest problem I had before I started couponing is I would buy "value packs" or "twin packs" of items because I thought it was cheaper (because companies WANT you to think that)!



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Hi! I'm Ashley. I'm a 22 year old college student who needed to save money. I want to help others save money for their families too. So, let's get the savings started!

    Archives

    May 2012
    January 2012

    Categories

    All